Saturday May 16th CANCELED due to weather!


Barber Clips Defending Sportsman Champion in Shangri-La II 2015 Season Opener

May 10, 2015

Tioga Center, NY - On a sunny, warm, perfect day for auto racing, John Barber, Billy Coyle, A.J. Lane, and John Maynard record first wins of 2015 at Shangri-La Motor Speedway Sunday afternoon as the motorsports complex kicked off another season of oval track racing on the hill outside Tioga Center, NY.
John Barber made a two and a half hour trip to the facility worth it with the Sports Modified Victory Lane appearance. After a third place in his qualifying race put him in a great starting spot for the feature, Barber stayed solidly in the top five through the early laps. Jimmy Zacharias set the pace throughout much of the first half with Paul Johnson and T.J. Zacharias providing the action in the runner up spot. In just a few laps near the mid-point, the line up changed dramatically as T.J. developed a mechanical issue, Johnson was caught up in a spin, and Jimmy retired to the pits with an oil leak. Barber took command with "young guns" Conner Sellars and Nick Morich in tow, but T.J. Zacharias and Paul Johnson were on a mission, charging from the back of the pack to get back into the top three in the closing laps. T.J made a move to the inside exiting turn four on the final circuit, but came up a few feet short of the win. Johnson crossed the line a close third , with Sellars and Morich rounding out the top five.

Read more: Barber Clips Defending Sportsman Champion in Shangri-La II 2015 Season Opener


Tires & Fuel for the 2015 Race Season!

Shangri-La II would like to welcome Valley Collision & Auto Body on board for the 2015 Racing Season as the track's offical tire supplier. The offical tire will be the Hoosier 1070 for the sportmods and the Hoosier F75 for the Street Stock class.
Tires must be purchased from our tire supplier/Valley Auto Body and scanned into inventory. It is mandatory to have two (2) track tires on the car after each race including qualifying. (The two tire rule excludes the left front, as the left front must be a legal hoosier tire for your class). If a car is found not to have two (2) scanned tires, the car will be disqualified.
To purchase tires, please contact Tom Bellinger Monday - Saturday 8am -6pm or by appointment at 607-343-2567.
Sunoco racing fuel will be the official fuel for Shangri-La II. Sunoco Purple 110 will be on hand, as well as 112. All cars in Sportsmod and Street Stock classes will be required to purchase 5 gallons of Sunoco 110 each night of racing. If found not to have purchased 5 gallons of fuel per car at the track, your pay will be subject to the deduction of the cost of the 5 gallons. ROC Modified teams will have Sunoco 112 available at the track. (If interested in purchasing barrels, please contact Tom.) Fuel can be purchased at the track or contact the track's fuel manager Tom Bellinger Monday - Saturday 8am -6pm at 607-343-2567.


Page 5 of 60

  • Charlotte Motor Speedway
  • Five Star Race Car Bodies
  • Interstate Auto Parts
  • US Legend Cars
  • Mojo Photos
  • Rained Out
  • Redneck BBQ
  • Upstate Machinery
  • Wilcox Towing
  • Pudgie's Pizza