Shangri-La II Champions Ready for RoC Challenges

RSR_Night-LogoDefending and former champions from Shangri-La II Motorspeedway (the ASA member track in Tioga Center, NY) continued their winning ways last Saturday night. Defending Shangri-La II Street Stock and 2010 RoC Super Stock champion, Lee Sharpsteen took his sixth Street Stock win to remain undefeated for the season. 2010 Sportsman Champion, Jimmy Zacharias collected his third win in a row and his fourth win in his last five races. 2009 ASA Latemodel Champion, Jim Lamoreaux has gotten his season back on track, winning for the first time since claiming the checkers in the season opener on June 12th.

Charlie Lohmeyer and Charlie Sharpsteen started the Street Stock feature on the front row, but third place starter, Billy Coyle would sneak by Lohmeyer to lead the first lap. The only caution of the race was as the field was working lap two. Chris Zacharias was working the bottom of turn one when his car made a sudden jump off the bottom, collecting the Lohmeyer ride. Lohmeyer spun and collected Charlie Sharpsteen in turn two. On the restart, Coyle was the leader, but Chris Zacharias made a great pass under Coyle coming off turn four to lead the pack. Zacharias would lead, and successfully hold off Lee Sharpsteen for the next seven laps until Lee took the lead at the start/finish line as the cars began lap ten. Lee Sharpsteen then pulled away to remain undefeated in feature action this season at "The Concrete Castle". Gil Sharpsteen drove his car, which was damaged in the heat race, to a second place finish. Zacharias finished third, while Charlie Sharpsteen and Charlie Lohmeyer completed the top five.

The 25 lap Sportsman feature was the second feature of the night. T-J Zacharias led the field to the green flag, flanked to his outside by Bryan Sherwood. T-J led the first eleven laps in the event, holding off the strong challenge from third place starter, John Wilber. With those two drivers racing each other hard, Jimmy Zacharias was working his way to the front. Jimmy took his number 71 to the outside and passed both Wilber and T-J for the lead on lap eleven. Jimmy set sail and drove away from all challengers as T-J battled hard to remain in second with Wilber literally on his bumper. This went on for three consecutive laps until the inevitable happened. Wilber pushed T-J a little further into the turn than he should have and T-J spun. Wilber made hard contact with the turn three foam sustaining significant right front damage and was done for the night. The restart saw Jimmy Zacharias and Tony Hanbury come to the green with Zacharias immediately jumping out front in turn one. Hanbury fell into a battle with his team mate, Bryan Sherwood for second. At the checkers, Jimmy Zacharias added another Sportsman win and extended his lead in All Time Sportsman Wins at the track to eleven. Hanbury finished second. Sherwood was third, T-J Zacharias fourth and Tom Shiner rounded out the top five.

Josh Lloyd led the ASA Latemodels to Gary Folk Jr's green flag, and held on to the top spot for the first four laps. Jim Lamoreaux started fifth and quickly let all competitors he was going to be a factor in the race. Lamoreaux worked quickly through the field, and got locked in a tight three car battle for second on the second lap with Joseph Burns and Joe Brown. The three leaned on each other turn after turn until Lamoreaux broke free as they entered turn one on lap three. Once free, Lamoreaux ran down Lloyd to take the lead. Lloyd, Brown and Burns raced each other hard and clean but they did not let Lamoreaux escape by more than four car lengths until there were five laps to go. Lamoreaux pulled away in the final five laps for his second win of the season (first since the season opener on June 12th). Brown finished second, Burns was third, Lloyd fourth and Joe Berretta finished fifth.

The Shangri-La II Motorspeedway Kids Club decorated cookies on Saturday night. The Kids Club was sponsored by Race Parts Plus and Schneider Racing.

A couple of leftovers from the RoC Modified program on July 9th. John Markovic bumped J.R.Kent off the record for the Modified Track Fastest Lap. Kent's record was set on September 11, 2010 running a lap at 17.320 seconds, 103.926 mph. Markovic's lap was turned on lap 58 in the 100 lapper at a time of 17.202 seconds and a speed of 104.634 mph. The Street Stock finish on July 9th was not official until late on Monday July 11th. The top three transmissions were impounded after the race. They were examined and returned to the teams following a thorough inspection found all three were legal.

There will be no racing at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway this Saturday night, July 23rd as the teams will be in action at the 61st Race of Champions at the Oswego Speedway. Racing will return to the Concrete Castle on Saturday July 30th on "A Night of Thunder" featuring the ASA Latemodels, Sportsman and Street Stocks.

ASA and Shangri-La II Motorspeedway...We Build Champions !!!



Rubbin' is Racin' Night

ASA Latemodels


1. 37 Jim Lamoreaux
15 Joe Brown
3. 53 Joseph Burns
4. 84 Josh Lloyd
5. 21 Joe Berretta
6. 26 Joe Schneider
7. 29 Dave Schneider
8. 20 Scott Nurmi
Scott Nurmi

Lap Leaders:
Josh Lloyd (1), Jim Lamoreaux (2-30)

 Jerry Dineen

Sportsman Modifieds
25 laps
Street Stock
25 laps

T-J Zacharias

Lap Leaders:
T-J Zacharias (1 – 11)
Jimmy Zacharias (12 – 25) 


Lee Sharpsteen

Lap Leaders:
Billy Coyle (1)
Chris Zacharias ( 2 – 9)
Lee Sharpsteen ( 10 – 25)

1. 71 Jimmy Zacharias
32 Tony Hanbury
3. 95 Bryan Sherwood
4. 17 T-J Zacharias
5. 35 Tom Shiner
6. 77 Paul Johnson
7. 4 John Wilber
8. 4X J. R. Kent
9. 9 Bethany Scherer

1. 8 Lee Sharpsteen
2. 6 7/8 Gil Sharpsteen
3. 98 Chris Zacharias
4. 34 Charlie Sharpsteen
5. 5 Chuck Lohmeyer
6. 4 Mikayla Rypkema
7. 26 Brad Knapp
8. 07 JR Swansbrough
9. 94 Billy Coyle