Last Lap Pass Keeps Sharpsteen Perfect on Concrete

7-30_sharpsteenFollowing a week off due to the running of the Race of Champions, racing returned to Shangri-La II Motorspeedway on Saturday night with 2010 Street Stock champion, Lee Sharpsteen passing his brother Charlie on the last lap of the 25 lap feature to remain undefeated. Jimmy Zacharias took the lead in the Sportsman feature on the 4th lap, and went on to claim his fifth feature win of the season as well as claiming the points lead at the ASA member track. Scott Nurmi held off a stout challenge from Jim Lamoreaux to claim his first ASA Latemodel win this season.

Billy Coyle started the Street Stock feature from the pole position. Coyle lead the first lap, but surrendered it to Charlie Sharpsteen on lap 2. Gil Sharpsteen made his way to second from his fourth place start on the second lap and began his challenge on his brother. The first of nine cautions fell on lap 4 when Brad Knapp spun on the backstretch. The re-start Gil Sharpsteen take the lead from Charlie, but it would not last. Cricket Clonch got into the back of Coyle in turn three sending the pair spinning on lap 5. Gil Sharpsteen held the lead on the re-start, but everyone knew payback would happen and it did as Coyle dumped Clonch in nearly the same spot of the track. Both drivers were sternly warned that "the war was over" via their one way radios. Caution flew again one lap later as Chris Zacharias spun in turn one. Gil Sharpsteen went to pit road to check for a flat tire, but the tire was ok, and he returned to the event handing the lead over to Charlie. Charlie held off the strong challenges from younger brother, Lee by protecting the bottom line around the track. Lee was able to move under Charlie coming off turn two on the final lap and pulled off the pass for the win in turn three to keep his unbeaten streak alive at seven wins for the season. Charlie Sharpsteen finished a close second. Cricket Clonch rebounded from the early spins to finish third. Gil Sharpsteen finished fourth and Matt Visingard brought the Richie Evans Tribute car across the finish line in fifth, the best ever finish for that car.

7-30_sports_modT-J Zacharias led the field of Sportsman to the green flag in their 25 lap feature. T-J led the first three laps, but lost the top spot to Tony Hanbury. Hanbury's lead was short lived, however as Jimmy Zacharias moved around Hanbury on lap five. Once out front, Jimmy Zacharias drove a smooth consistent line and pulled away for his fourth win in a row, and fifth win of the season as his eye is focused on repeating as champion. Tony Hanbury held off his team mate, Bryan Sherwood for second. Veteran, Tom Shiner had a fierce battle with John Wilber, but held on to finish fourth with Wilber completing the top five. Part time ARCA driver, Barry Fitzgerald, made his debut at Shangri-La II. The Sykesville, Maryland driver was making his second outing in a Sportsman and drove a great race finishing sixth.

The ASA Latemodels capped off the racing evening with Scott Nurmi capturing an emotional win. Emotionswere high for Nurmi as he was joined in victory lane by his son, Ryan who sustained multiple fractures of his spine while snowmobiling this past February and has been going through extensive physical therapy. The win was no easy accomplishment, however as his mirror was filled with the front bumper of 2009 ASA Latemodel champion, Jim Lamoreaux. Try as he may, Lamoreaux could not pull far enough alongside Nurmi to force a pass. Matt Barndt, making his second start at "The Concrete Castle" this season, had his hands full with a hard charging Joseph Burns. Barndt finished third, Burns was fourth and Joe Brown completed the top five.

Concrete Hot Laps: Shangri-La II Motorspeedway Public Relations Director and track co-announcer Al Robinson made his first trip to the facility since suffering a debilitating stroke in early May. He is achieving his own lofty goals by working hard in therapy. Perhaps the best medicine for him so far was taking to the microphone and calling a Street Stock heat. Thanks to The Race Report's Ron Hills for providing the transportation for Al.

French's Auto Parts sponsored the Kids Club this past week. There will be no kids club this week due to family commitments for the program coordinators prohibiting their being at the track.

7-30_latemodel_winnerJim Lamoreaux was thanking the racing gods following motor problems at Oswego. Lamoreaux experienced a loss of power in the final Late Model practice. The crew went to work and found a broken valve spring and bent valve. His racing luck was there was no internal damage to the motor.

During his victory lane interview, Jimmy Zacharias was informed that there were broken rear end components. His crew was able to move the rear tire forward and back by hand. Zacharias denied he felt any difference in the cars handling during the race.

Racing will continue at the "Concrete Castle" this Saturday night as the Circle Track AMSOIL Great American Tour makes a stop at the high banked concrete half mile. Circle Track magazine Senior Tech Editor, Bob Bolles and his wife Karen will be researching racing at the track by speaking with drivers, officials and fans as they generate ideas for upcoming issues of the magazine. The track's premier division, the ASA Latemodels will be joined by the Sportsman and Street Stocks. Racing gets underway at 7:00 pm.

ASA Late Models, 25 Laps: Scott Nurmi, Jim Lamoreraux, Matt Barndt, Joseph Burns, Joe Brown, Josh Lloyd, Travis FisherDNS: Jerry Dineen, Dave Schneider Heat Winner: Jerry Dineen

Sportsman, 25 Laps: Jimmy Zacharias,Tony Hanbury, Bryan Sherwood, Tom Shiner,John Wilber, Barry Fitzgerald, T-J Zacharias, ZachCurren DNS: Paul Johnson Heat Winner: Tony Hanbury

Street Stocks, 25 Laps: Lee Sharpsteen, Charlie Sharpsteen, Cricket Clonch, Gil Sharpsteen, Matt Visingard, Brad Knapp, Mikayla Rypkema, Billy Coyle, Chris Zacharias DQ: Glenn Lippolis, Chris Dougherty Heat Winners: Cricket Clonch, Gil Sharpsteen

Exciting ASA racing every Saturday night at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway!



Night of Thunder

ASA Latemodels


1. 20 Scott Nurmi
(1st win of the season)
2. 37 Jim Lamoreaux
3. 55 Matt Barndt
4. 53 Joseph Burns
5. 15 Joe Brown
6. 84 Josh Lloyd
7. 8 Travis Fisher
Jerry Dineen

29 Dave Schneider
13 Jerry Dineen

Sportsman Modifieds
25 laps
Street Stock
25 laps

Tony Hanbury


Lee Sharpsteen
1. 71 Jimmy Zacharias
(5th win of the season)
2. 32 Tony Hanbury
3. 95 Bryan Sherwood
4. 35 Tom Shiner
5. 4 John Wilber
6. 39 Barry Fitzgerald
7. 17 T-J Zacharias
8. 94 Zach Curren


77 Paul Johnson
1. 8 Lee Sharpsteen
(7th consecutive win of the season)
2. 34 Charlie Sharpsteen
3. 32 Cricket Clonch
4. 6 7/8 Gil Sharpsteen
5. 61 Matt Visingard
6. 26 Brad Knapp
7. 4 Mikayla Rypkema
8. 94 Billy Coyle
9. 98 Chris Zacharias

85 Glenn Lippolis, 22 Chris Dougherty