August 18 - Family Fun Night

Tyler Rypkema Wins 1st Ever Sportsman Feature

Lamoreaux Claims Late Model Title Dispite Dineen Win

August 18 - Jerry Dineen was the winner of the thirty lap Late Model feature, but Jim Lamoreaux claimed the 2012 Late Model Championship at the ASA member track by four points over Dineen. Sportsman rookie, Tyler Rypkema held off the close challenges of John Wilber and Tony Hanbury to collect his first ever Sportsman win. Gil Sharpsteen finally sorted out the handling problems which have plagued his efforts all season to claim his first win of the season. Gene Purvis outlasted Dayton Cote to claim his first ever win at Shangri-La II in the Pudgies Pizza Four Cylinder Stocks. A very pleasant late summer night greeted the fans and competitors at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway in Tioga Center, NY.


The action in several divisions is down to single digit differences in points positions. The Late Model championship was decided on Saturday night. The Late Models split time with the Modifieds in 2012 at "The Concrete Castle". Jerry Dineen has been fast all season long in his Ford powered ride. He trailed Jim Lamoreaux by eight points coming into the night. It was "max points" for Dineen if he had any hope at claiming the title. Both drivers each won their heat races in dominating fashion. Brad Smales was on the pole for the thirty lap feature, but dropped to the rear of the field as he is still sorting out the Al Slavik owned ride which is in competition for only the second time. This brought the title combatants to the front row for the green flag. Dineen grabbed the lead in turn one and built up a three length cushion over Lamoreaux. The only caution of the event came on lap seven when Scott Nurmi got sideways coming off turn four. His car came down the banking directly into the path of 2011 champion, Joe Brown. Contact was made when Brown slid across the nose of Nurmi's ride, heavily damaging both cars. Both drivers, however, were reported to be OK. Lamoreaux made a series of late race challenges, but Dineen held on for a division leading third win of the season. Lamoreaux finished second, and claimed his second Shangri-La II Late Model championship by four points. Josh Lloyd moved around Glenn Lippolis with five laps to go in the feature to finish third. Lippolis finished fourth and Smales was fifth.

Brandon Ameigh was very fast with his Pudgies Pizza Four Cylinder Stock as he grabbed the early race lead as the field entered turn one for the first time. Gene Purvis started up front, but slid back to fifth by the end of lap two. Contact between Brandon Ameigh and Dayton Cote in turn two had both cars spin. Ameigh continued driving around the track from turn two, into turn one and over to turn four( reverse direction) while the field continued under pace speed. Brandon Ameigh then brought out the yellow on the restart by coming to a stop in turn four. The restart had Ameigh lag back, pick up the throttle well before the green flag and passed the field on the outside at full speed prior to start/finish line. The black flag was displayed to Ameigh. Jeff Ameigh took over the lead, and stayed out front until Purvis got by with an inside pass coming off turn four on lap ten. Jeff Ameigh's motor blew with fire under the hood of the car as he went into turn one on lap ten. Purvis held off Cote and points leader Frank Morich for his first ever Shangri-La II win.

Two young rookies paced the field of Sportsman to the green flag in their twenty lap feature. Tyler Rypkema quickly snatched the lead from Zack Curren as the pair entered turn one. Points leader, John Wilber, started fourth and swept around Curren with an outside pass to take over second place on lap two. Jody Buckley was running in the third spot, but fell back to the fifth position on lap eight. Tony Hanbury looked to flex his muscle through the mid-portion of the event, passing Curren for the third spot on lap eleven. Rypkema, Wilber and Hanbury ran nose to tail in the lead pack while Buckley, Curren and Mikayla Rypkema ran nose to tail in a second pack. At the checkers, Tyler Rypkema collected his first ever Sportsman win. John Wilber maintained his lead in the points over Tony Hanbury by finishing second for the eighth time this season. Hanbury was third with Buckley getting around Curren for fourth with two laps to go. Curren finished fifth.

Jason Duke, Sr. and Hank Buchanan led the field of Street Stocks into turn one for their twenty five lap feature, but Gil Sharpsteen wanted the lead and wanted it early. Gil, from his third starting spot, powered under Buchanan in turn one and past Duke in turn two to take the top spot. Lee Sharpsteen, Jeff Goodwin and Chris Zacharias always seem to find each other, and all three competitors found each other early. The first of three cautions flew on lap three when rookie competitor, Chris Conrad spun in turn three in a single car incident. Conrad's green number six got loose when he pushed up and out of the racing groove causing the spin. When green flag racing resumed, the field broke into packs of three cars, and each pack ran nose to tail with each other. The pack of Lee Sharpsteen, Goodwin and Zacharias tested the quality of their bumpers extensively. The second caution flew when Bob Ripley's ride came to a stop in turn three on lap fourteen. Racing resumed with the Sharpsteen family holding the top three spots. Gil led with Charlie and Lee trailing. The final caution flew on lap nineteen for Hank Buchanan's spin in turn two. Gil Sharpsteen would hold on to the lead for the final six circuits to claim his first win in a year, and his fourth Street Stock win at "The Concrete Castle". Chris Zacharias remained strong following his win one week prior and held off the strong challenges from Lee Sharpsteen to finish second for the fourth time this season. Lee finished third. Goodwin finished fourth and Charlie Sharpsteen crossed the line in fifth. The finish is not official at press time as post-race technical inspection was not final.

Up Next at Shangri-La II is Rubbin' Is Racin' Night Saturday, August 25th. The four division program will feature Season Championships for the Sportsman, Street Stocks and Pudgies Pizza Four Cylinder Stocks. The Modifieds will be in action for the fifth time this season. Pit Gates open at 4:30 pm. Grandstand Gates open and Hot Laps begin at 5:30 pm. Racing gets underway at 7:00 pm. Your paid admission is always good for both Shangri-La II and Skyview Drags. There is always plenty of free camping.

Feature Event Results:

Late Model Finish (30 Laps):
1) Jerry Dineen, 2) Jim Lamoreaux, 3) Josh Lloyd, 4) Glenn Lippolis, 5) Brad Smales, 6). Joe Brown, 7) Scott Nurmi DNS: Billy Coyle, Michael Forbes
Heat Winners: Jerry Dineen, Jim Lamoreaux

Sportsman Finish (20 Laps):
1) Tyler Rypkema, 2) John Wilber, 3) Tony Hanbury, 4) Jody Buckley, 5) Zack Curren, 6) Mikayla Rypkema, 7) Tom Shiner, 8) Matt Clemens, 9) Chris Clemens
Heat Winners: Tony Hanbury, John Wilber

Street Stock Finish ( 25 Laps):
1) Gil Sharpsteen, 2) Chris Zacharias, 3) Lee Sharpsteen, 4) Jeff Goodwin, 5) Charlie Sharpsteen, 6) Jason Duke, Sr., 7) Bill Frisbee, Jr., 8) Dusty Snell, 9) Jake Snell, 10) Gary Noe, 11) Joe Snell, 12) Hank Buchanan, 13) Bob Ripley, 14) Guy Somers, 15) Chris Conrad, 16) J.R. Swansborough DNS: Robert Fink
Heat Winners: Lee Sharpsteen, Jason Duke, Sr., Jeff Goodwin

Pudgies Goodtime Pizza, Pasta and Subs 4 Cylinders (12 Laps):
1) Gene Purvis, 2) Dayton Cote, 3) Frank Morich, 4) Jeff Ameigh DQ: Brandon Ameigh
Heat Winner: Brandon Ameigh

ASA and Shangri-La II Motorspeedway - We Build Champions!