By Tom Cummings

ss 85 gl 5304-1 

           Gene Purvis continued his winning ways in the Four Cylinder Stocks at the ASA Member track, Shangri-La II Motorspeedway on Saturday night. Purvis collected win number five in the fifth week of competition. Jeff Goodwin out-dueled Charlie Sharpsteen on the final restart to repeat as winner in the Pudgies Pizza Street Stocks. Tyler Rypkema went wheel to wheel with the winningest driver at the track to claim back to back wins in the Sportsman division. 

 fc 88 gp 4292-1

            The green flag dropped for the Four Cylinder Stock feature and immediately Gene Purvis created a three wide challenge for the lead as he charged up from his fourth place starting spot. Joe Lane and Jeremiah Clonch held off Purvis as they continued two wide through the second turn. Clonch would claim the lead heading down the backstretch. Clonch crossed the line leading the first two laps, but would be overtaken by Purvis entering turn two on the third lap. Purvis checked out on the field leaving a three way battle behind him as Clonch, Lane and Nick Morich fought for second. At the checkered flag, Purvis claimed his fifth consecutive win of 2013. Lane finished second; Clonch was third and the driver who ended the Purvis Perfect streak by winning the heat race, Nick Morich, finished fourth. Devon Bailey finished fifth in his first ever Shangri-La II start.  

 sm 32 tr 4319

             Randy Brokaw led the field to the green flag, and claimed the lap one lead over Tyler Rypkema who started third. T. Rypkema took the lead on lap two. Jimmy Zacharias started sixth, but bypassed Brokaw on lap two for second. Zacharias caught T.Rypkema on lap seven, and took the lead on lap nine. The race ran under the green flag with outside polesitter, Mikayla Rypkema running fifth and fourth place starter, Paul Johnson moving up one spot to third. The one and only caution flag flew on lap twenty for Brokaw as he dropped rear end fluid in turn four. On the restart, J.Zacharias and T.Rypkema went wheel to wheel into turn one. Zacharias was down low in the turn as Rypkema used the outer lane to reclaim the lead. Once out front, Rypkema would hold off Zacharias by a carlength for his second consecutive win. J.Zacharias finished second, Johnson finished third after running twenty one of the twenty five laps in that spot. Mikayla Rypkema finished fourth and T-J Zacharias finished fifth in a car that was originally scheduled to be driven by Mike Odwasny. The car which T-J was going to drive broke during hotlaps causing the driver switch. 

ss 05 jg 4356-2

            Jason Duke, Sr. led the Pudgies Pizza Street Stocks to the green flag for the final feature of the evening. Duke was flanked by Charlie Sharpsteen. Duke, Sharpsteen, Jake Snell, Glenn Lippolis and Jeff Goodwin ran nose to tail until the first of seven cautions flew on lap twelve when Dusty Snell spun in turn three. Chris Zacharias started twelfth and made his way into the top five on the restart. Caution flew for the second time when Jake Snell spun after falling from third to sixth in the running order. Zacharias took the lead on lap sixteen, just before a rash of four cautions on lap sixteen. During the cautions, the Zacharias car was checked by officials as there was smoke coming from the rear end and officials wanted to make sure he was not dropping fluid on the track. Once racing resumed following four cautions and two no starts, Glenn Lippolis had the lead on lap seventeen with Goodwin and Zacharias on his bumper. The final caution flew when Zacharias got into the rear bumper of Lippolis, spinning the Lippolis ride. Jake Snell was caught up in the wreck and was collected by the spinning Lippolis. Both cars were done for the night. Zacharias was also done for the night, parked by track officials. Goodwin and Sharpsteen entered turn one side by side on the lap twenty four restart. Goodwin took over the lead for good entering turn three, and exited turn four to the waving checkered flag. It was the second consecutive win for the defending track Champion. Sharpsteen finished second; Gary Noe finished third after running seventh most of the race. Bill Frisbee, Jr crossed the line fourth after running as high as third on lap seventeen. Jason Duke, Sr completed the top five despite being hooked together with Sharpsteen following a spin in turn two on lap sixteen. For Goodwin, the win was his seventh overall at the track, breaking a two way tie with Chad McDonald for second on the All Time wins list.  

            IMPORTANT SCHEDULE CHANGE: The racing program for this weekend, June 22, 2013 has been cancelled. The reason for the cancellation is the large number competitors; track officials and track staff either graduating or have family members graduating from high school. “We make a schedule during the winter months, and want to have as many events as possible” said track event director, Amy Culver. “With High School Graduation, we have no way of knowing what the impact on our operation will be and we have to take many things into consideration to provide a racing program. While we would prefer to keep to the schedule, we feel that cancelling the racing for June 22nd is the best way to go for competitors, employees and fans alike”. 

            Racing will return to Shangri-La II Motorspeedway on Saturday June 29th for Mid-Season Championship and Family Fun Night. The Kids Club is looking for some more financial support for Family Fun Night as they have many activities planned for the kids to make the night special. Planned are water balloon fights, Penny Drop, Penny Candy, Bicycle Give-aways and more. Please contact the speedway for more information and/or support for Family Fun Night. Contact the speedway at 607-687-9392 or 607-330-2622 or on the web at: www.shangrila-2.com . Pit Gates open at 4:30 pm, Grandstand Gate opens and Practice begins at 5:30 pm with racing beginning at 7:00 pm. Remember to bring back your wristbands from last week for $2.00 off of Grandstand admission. Show your wristbands at Pudgie’s Pizza in Binghamton or Waverly and receive a discount on your food purchase. There is always plenty of free camping at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway. 

ASA and Shangri-La II Motorspeedway - We Build Champions 

Pudgie’s Pizza Street Stock Finish (25 Laps): Jeff Goodwin, Charlie Sharpsteen, Gary Noe, Bill Frisbee, Jr, Jason Duke, Sr, Glenn Lippolis, Jake Snell, Chris Zacharias, Billy Coyle, Dusty Snell, Joe Snell DNS: Robert Fink                                                         DQ: Nick Robinson    Heat Winners: Glenn Lippolis, Jake Snell 

Sportsman Finish (25 Laps): Tyler Rypkema, Jimmy Zacharias, Paul Johnson, Mikayla Rypkema, T.J. Zacharias, Randy Brokaw, Chris Clemens, Matt Clemens   DNS: Mike Odwasny  Heat Winners: Tyler Rypkema, Mikayla Rypkema 

Four Cylinder Stock Finish (12 Laps): Gene Purvis, Joe Lane, Jeremiah Clonch, Nick Morich, Devon Bailey, Dustin Hall, Monica Green   Heat Winner: Gene Purvis