May 24, 2014

By Tom Cummings

Tioga Center, NY -  Gene Purvis remained undefeated in Four Cylinder Stock competition as Shangri-La II Motorspeedway paid tribute to those who have made the ultimate sacrifice for this country on Memorial Day weekend. T.J. Zacharias took advantage of a late race caution to get by Tony Hanbury and held him off the final five laps for his first win of 2014. Bill Frisbee, Jr took the lead with eleven laps to go and held on to win over last week’s winner, Gary Noe and teammate Billy Coyle.

A patriotic opening ceremony preceded the racing on Saturday night, complete with a moment of silence for the fallen heros. A moment of silence was also held in memory of engine builder, Gail Clark who passed away earlier in the week. Gene Purvis has a perfect win percentage this season at Shangri-La II. Purvis has won the three features he has started and the two features he has run. Purvis started outside front row with Jeremiah Clonch on the pole. Clonch would lead the first lap, but Purvis put the throttle down entering turn one, and had the top spot on lap two. Purvis would win by six carlengths. Clonch remained locked in a battle with Alan Blackwell and Nick Morich. Morich would get by Blackwell with two laps to go, but ran out of laps to catch Clonch. Purvis collected win number three of 2014 with Clonch, Morich, Blackwell and Cody Jackson completing the top five.

Tony Hanbury and T.J. Zacharias drew front row starting spots for the Sportsman feature. At the drop of the green flag, the two drivers ran side by side until Hanbury edged ahead of Zacharias entering turn three. Hanbury completed the pass exiting turn four with Zacharias tucking in on Hanbury’s bumper. Paul Johnson got by Nick Morich for third, and joined the lead pair in breaking away from the field. Zacharias tried every line he could come up with to get by Hanbury, but would be denied each time. The lone caution flew on lap fourteen when Zach Curren spun in turn two after having a tire go down. Zacharias made the outside work on the restart as he matched Hanbury through the first three turns, and edged ahead with five laps to go. Zacharias held on to collect his first win of the season. He was followed across the line by Hanbury, Johnson, Connor Saunders and Curren.

Bill Frisbee, Jr and Jason Duke, Sr. paced the Street Stocks to the green flag of Sam Folk. Duke would take the lead into turn one, with Frisbee falling into line. Gary Noe and Terry Potrzebowski were third and fourth, but Potrzebowski’s car was under powered, and would not finish the event. Billy Coyle started ninth, and would find himself in fourth by lap six. Duke was fast, but had his right upper a-frame break on a lap five restart. Frisbee got by Duke on lap nine and was on a mission to put the car into victory lane. Frisbee held off the late race challenges of Noe and Coyle for his first win of the season and his third overall at the track. Noe held on to the points lead finishing second. Noe leads by six points over Frisbee. Coyle was third in his first race of the season. Brad Knapp finished fourth, and Chris Pozzi finished fifth in his first ever start at the concrete castle.

Concrete Nuggets: Shangri-La II was honored to have an Air Force veteran presenting trophies in Victory Lane. John Zack served the United States Air Force from 1961-1965. The fans and teams applauded their appreciation. Beth Bailey was on hand to sing the National Anthem for the first time in 2014.

Racing will continue at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway this Saturday, May 31st. It is Drivers Appreciation Night at the speedway. Drivers will be admitted to the pits for free on Saturday night. Teams will bring their cars out to the front stretch where the fans will be able to come out, and get up close to the racing machines, the drivers and teams. Feature action on Saturday night will see “Cone” Races for the first time this year. The Street Stocks, Sportsman Modifieds and the Four Cylinder Stocks will all be in action. Pit Gates open at 4:30 pm, Grandstand Gate opens and Practice begins at 5:30 pm with racing beginning at 7:00 pm. 

There is always plenty of free camping at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway.

Four Cylinder Stocks (10 Laps) 1) Gene Purvis, 2) Jeremiah Clonch 3) Nick Morich, 4) Alan Blackwell, 5) Cody Jackson, 6) Duane Bailey, 7) Chris Kokesh, 8) Dave Cooke   DNS: Randy Matthews   Heat Winner: Gene Purvis

Sportsman Modifieds ( 20 Laps) 1) T. J.Zacharias, 2) Tony Hanbury, 3) Paul Johnson, 4) Connor Saunders, 5) Zach Curren, 6) Dylan Terry, 7) Nick Morich, 8) Tommy Rought, 9) Chris Clemens Heat Winner: T.J. Zacharias

Pudgies Pizza Street Stock (20 Laps) 1) Bill Frisbee, Jr., 2) Gary Noe, 3) Billy Coyle, 4) Brad Knapp, 5) Chris Pozzi, 6) Charlie Sharpsteen, 7) Jason Duke, Sr., 8) Terry Potrzrbowski DNS: R.J. Zacharias   Heat Winner: Jason Duke, Sr.