ss 2 bf 7875

July 19, 2014

By Tom Cummings



Tioga Center, NY    Bill Frisbee, Jr., piloting a street stock which is a rolling tribute to his late father Bill Frisbee, Sr., held off a fast closing R.J. Zacharias to collect his second Street Stock win of the season at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway, and is now in sole possession of the points lead. T.J. Zacharias started sixth in the Sportsman feature, and took over the top spot on lap four with an inside pass on Paul Johnson in turn one. Zacharias would withstand one restart as the leader and crossed the finish line claiming his seventh victory of 2014. His first four wins were consecutive, interrupted by Paul Johnson's win three weeks ago. Zacharias has his sights set on becoming the first Sportsman driver to collect five consecutive feature wins at Shangri-La II.  Gene Purvis is still tinkering with his Four Cylinder Stock. He is making adjustments in the right direction, keeping a step in front of his fellow competitors. Purvis collected win number ten on Saturday night, and is still undefeated in 2014.

Devon Bailey and Alan Blackwell brought the Four Cylinder Stock field to the green flag, bu they were already feeling the pressure from the second starting row which consisted of Nick Morich and Gene Purvis. Devon Bailey led the first two laps with Morich and Purvis sending Blackwell to fourth after lap two. Purvis would take over the lead on lap three and never look back. Morich grabbed second away from Devon Bailey on lap five, a lap which saw Blackwell retire his number 3 for the night. Joe Lane would retire his ride on lap seven, after the crew did a huge amount of work repairing his car following a heat race crash on the homestretch which resulted in left front end damage. Morich would bring his ride into the pits with two laps to go. Purvis cruised to his tenth win of the season and Devon Bailey had his best finish of the season, a second place finish. Shannon Gresham and Duane Bailey completed the top four. Devon Bailey was the top finishing Front Wheel Drive Four Cylinder Stock for the second week in a row.

Tommy Rought and Nick Morich brought the Sportsman Modified field to the start of their twenty lap feature. Connor Sellars started third and was following Rought into turn one in the inside lane. Sellars and Morich made contact, sending the Sellars car into a spin. All cars were able to continue after an original restart, except for Sellars who started tail on the field. Paul Johnson and T.J. Zacharias started in row three, but would take over the top two spots on lap three. T.J. Zacharias got position on Johnson coming off of turn four, but would not complete the pass until the pair entered turn two of lap four. Once out front, Zacharias maintained a six car length lead over Johnson. As the race went on, Johnson's car became loose, and would fall further behind the Zacharias Gold #71. Dylan Zacharias, son of Rick Zacharias, made his Shangri-La II Sportsman debut, and was the lone caution of the event when he spun his ride in turn two. T.J. quickly moved away from the field on the restart to claim win number seven on the season, and career win number eleven at Shangri-La II placing him in a tie for second on the Sportsman All Time Win List with Tony Hanbury. Johnson held on to finish second, Sellars recovered to finish third, Morich was fourth and Mikayla Rypkema finished fifth.

Bill Frisbee, Jr. and Jason Duke, Sr. were tied for the points lead and Gary Noe was three points back in third place entering the Street Stock main event. Frisbee started on the pole and moved to a four car length advantage over outside pole sitter, R.J. Zacharias. Frisbee was strong, as he opened up a half straightaway lead. Caution flew on lap five when Duke spun in turn two while battling Noe for third spot. Frisbee survived the restart as the leader, once again opening up a huge lead. Zacharias, however, stuck to his plan, and began closing the gap between himself and the leader. With two laps to go, Zacharias was with two carlengths of the leader, and at the white flag was nose to tail with Frisbee. Zacharias had a slight slip in turn two, and that was all Frisbee needed to hold off Zacharias at the line by a car length. Duke, Noe and Brad Knapp completed the top five.

Concrete Nuggets; Shangri-La II announced some changes to the schedule for the remainder of 2014. Shangri-La II will be closed on August 2nd and August 9th. Racing will resume in August 16th with a regular program featuring Double Points. Season Championship night has been moved up to August 23rd which will feature Championship points and a Post Race Pit Party.  August 30th is being reserved as a Rain Date for Season Championship night.  The Fall Brawl will be the traditional season ending program at the Concrete Castle on September 27th and 28th.

Racing switches to Sunday this week as the track hosts Gail Clark Day featuring the return of the RoC Modifieds for their second appearance of 2014. The Street Stocks and Four Cylinder Stocks will also be in action.  Pit Gates open at 11:00 am, Grandstand Gate opens and Hotlaps begin at 1:30pm and racing gets the green flag at 3:00 pm.  There is an open practice session scheduled for Saturday July 26th. Pit Gate opens at 11:00 am with practice scheduled to run from Noon until 6:00pm. Grandstand admission for practice is a non-perishable Pet Food item which will be donated to the Tioga County Animal Shelter. There is always plenty of free camping at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway.

Street Stocks (20 Laps) 1) Bill Frisbee, Jr 2) R.J. Zacharias 3) Jason Duke, Sr., 4) Gary Noe, 5) Brad Knapp          DNS:  Brian Bowen       Heat Winner: Bill Frisbee, Jr

Sportsman Modifieds (20Laps) 1) T. J. Zacharias, 2) Paul Johnson, 3) Connor Sellars, 4) Nick Morich, 5) Mikayla Rypkema, 6) Tommy Rought , 7) Dylan Zacharias, 8) Corey Mosher, 9) Chris Clemens       Heat Winners: Paul Johnson, T.J. Zacharias

Four Cylinder Stocks (15 Laps) 1) Gene Purvis, 2) Devon Bailey, 3) Shannon Gresham, 4) Duane Bailey, 5) Nick Morich, 6) Joe Lane, 7) Alan Blackwell                       Heat Winner: Gene Purvis

RWD WINNER: Gene Purvis   FWD WINNER: Devon Bailey