Paules, Fisher, Pruitt and McDonald find the
Winner Circle

by Brock Moore
Date: July 19th, 2009
For Immediate Release

(Tioga Center, NY) It was an action filled day of racing at the 1/2 mile concrete oval known as Shangri-La II Motor Speedway on Sunday, July 19th. The Comstock Family and Best Driving School presented a 100 lap race for the Mighty Modifieds that saw Earl Paules of Palmerton, Pennsylvania pick up the win. Other Winners included Travis Fisher (ASA Late Models), Patti Pruitt (Sportsman Modifieds) and Chad McDonald (Street Stocks).

Chris Whitenight and Rick Zacharias led the field to the green in the 100 lap feature for the Mighty Modified division. R. Zacharias quickly powered his way a round Whitenight by lap 5 as the field was jockeying for position in the opening laps. Earl Paules ran third with Pete Brittain and John Markovic on the move as they passed Matt Wentz on lap 12 to move into the top 5. As the field completed lap 20, R. Zacharias continued to lead Whitenight by 4 car lengths. Whitenight slipped up coming off of turn 4 on lap 25 which allowed Paules, Brittain and Markovic to get by him. Paules started to run down the race leader R. Zacharias and by lap 28 was close enough to take the top position going into turn 1. Brittain followed taking the 2nd position as R. Zacharias filed into the 3rd spot. On lap 36, Jimmy Zacharias spun in turn 2 bringing out the caution flag which bunched the field together for a double file restart. Paules and Brittain took the field back green and battled side by side for numerous laps until Paules cleared him on lap 48. Paules, Brittain, Markovic, J. Zacharias and Defebo made up the top 5 at the halfway point. The race for the top spot continued to heat up as Brittain was determined to get the position from Paules as they battled nose to tail with 10 laps to go. Brittain bumped Paules on the final lap and drove to his inside in turn 2 but Paules shut the door and held on for his 3rd win of the season in the Mighty Modified division. Brittain finished 2nd ahead of Markovic, J. Zacharias and R. Zacharias who rounded out the top 5. Paules, J. Zacharias and Brittain won the 3 heat races that were held.

The ASA Late Models did battle in a 30 lap feature event. Joe Brown and Jim Lamoreaux made up the front row and took the field to the green. Lamoreaux jumped out the early lead with Scott Nurmi following as they both cleared Joe Brown on the 1st lap. Lamoreaux and Nurmi continued to fight it out for the top position in the early laps as Nurmi touched Lamoreaux in turn 4 getting him loose on lap 3. The caution came out on lap 5 after Nurmi tried an outside pass for the lead and spun in turn 4 hitting the outside retaining wall. Lamoreaux and Brown took the field back green. Travis Fisher and Bill Catania passed Brown to move into the 2nd and 3rd positions on lap 6. Fisher made a diving move in turn 3 to the inside of Lamoreaux on lap 8 to take the lead. Lamoreaux fought back and looked to the outside of Fisher heading down the back straight but Fisher continued to hold on. Lamoreaux spun out with 5 laps to go setting up a double file restart and it didn't take him long to get back on the bumper of the leader Fisher. The battle went side by side until the end but Travis Fisher of Fern Glen, Pennsylvania held on to score his 1st feature win of the 2009 racing season. Jim Lamoreaux finished 2nd and Joe Beretta completed the top 3. Fisher won the 10 lap heat race.

Patti Pruitt and Rick Zacharias made up the front row for the 30 lap Sportsman Modified feature event. It didn't take 3rd place starter Earl Paules long as he made it a 3 wide battle for the top spot heading into turn 3 on the 1st lap to take the lead. Jimmy Zacharias moved into the 2nd position by the 8th lap passing Pruitt and R. Zacharias. Matt Kurzejewski ran in the 5th position for the most the feature event but was right with the front runners as he worked hard on Pruitt and R. Zacharias for numerous laps. Paules and J. Zacharias started to work lap traffic with just 12 laps remaining in the event. As Paules went into turn 2, the lap car of T.J. Zacharias shoved Paules up the track allowing J. Zacharias to get past. Paules would quickly jump back to the inside of J. Zacharias heading into turn 3 but the two got together and spun bringing out the caution flag. Pruitt and R. Zacharias led the field back to green with Kurzejewski running in the 3rd spot. Lee Sharpsteen spun with 2 laps remaining and brought out the caution which set up a green, white, checkered finish. When the field went back to green, Kurzejewski quickly passed R. Zacharias in turn 1 to take over the 2nd position and looked to try the bump and run on Pruitt with just one lap remaining. J. Zacharias also managed to clear R. Zacharias in the closing laps. Kurzejewski tried to make one final attempt in turns 3 and 4 but it wasn't enough as Pruitt held on for the win. Matt Kurzejewski finished 2nd, J. Zacharias finished 3rd, R. Zacharias finished 4th and John Markovic completed the top 5. Earl Paules and Jimmy Zacharias won the heat races.

Chad McDonald of Wellsburg, New York started on the pole and led all 20 laps in the caution free Street Stock feature event. This feature win is McDonald's 2nd in a row. AJay Potrzebowski finished 2nd, Dylan Terry finished 3rd, Frank Chapman finished 4th and Terry Ostrander rounded out the top 5. AJay Potrzebowski won the 8 lap heat race.

Shangri-La II Motor Speedway returns to Saturday racing on July 25th. The Mighty Modifieds, ASA Late Models, Sportsman Modifieds and Street Stocks will all be in action. Pit Gates Open at 10:00am, Grandstands Open at 11:00am, Practice at 12:00pm with the first race hitting the track at 2:00pm. Grandstand Admission is $10.00 for Adults and $5.00 for kids ages 12 and under. Shangri-La II Motor Speedway and the American Speed Association (ASA) - Concrete Kicks Asphalt!