Zacharias, Reynolds, Truesdail, VanInwegen, Jr.
and Terry Capture Wins at Shangri-La II

by Brock Moore
July 25th, 2009
For Immediate Release

(Tioga Center, NY) Jimmy Zacharias scored his first Mighty Modified win of the 2009 racing season at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway on Saturday, August 1st. Also picking up wins were Ben Reynolds (ASA Late Models), Zach Truesdail (Sportsman Modifieds), Billy VanInwegan, Jr. (Tobias SpeedSTR's) and Dylan Terry (Street Stocks).

T.J. Zacharias and Chris Zacharias lined up on the front row for the start of the 40-lap Mighty Modified feature. Jimmy Zacharias who started in the 4th position quickly made a charge to the lead and brought Rick Zacharias with him to 2nd on lap 3 as they both passed Chris Zacharias. The race was on for the top spot as R. Zacharias bumped J. Zacharias coming off turn 2 and dove to the inside trying to complete a pass but J. Zacharias shut the door and held on to lead the first 13 laps. The caution came out on lap 14 as Glenn Lipolis spun on the backstraight. A double file restart on lap 15 once again had R. Zacharias all over the back bumper of J. Zacharias as the headed into turns 1 and 2. The battle for the 3rd and 4th positions between Jim Storace and John Markovic saw the two touch coming down the backstraight which allowed Chris Zacharias to move into 3rd. Storace kicked up dirt on the track which forced officials to bring out the yellow flag. When the green flag flew again, J. Zacharias and R. Zacharias once again battled nose to tail heading into turn 1. As the field completed halfway J. Zacharias led R. Zacharias, C. Zacharias, Storace and Markovic rounded out the top 5. On lap 28, Markovic moved into the 4th spot by passing Storace. With less than 10 laps remaining in the exciting featuring event, the battle for the top spot was less than half a car length between J. Zacharias and R. Zacharias. The lead pack worked lap traffic as they took the white flag but the traffic didn't come into play. The front two drag raced to the finishline and J. Zacharias scored his first win of the season in the Mighty Modified division. R. Zacharias finished 2nd, C. Zacharias finished 3rd, Markovic finished 4th and Storace completed the top 5. Rick Zacharias and John Markovic won the 2 heat races.

The caution filled 30-lap feature for the ASA Late Models had Scott Nurmi and Jim Lamoreaux on the front row. When the field went green, Nurmi jumped out into the lead and Lamoreaux fell into 2nd. Ben Reynolds and Travis Fisher passed Lamoreaux for 2nd and 3rd on lap 2. Reynolds made his pass for the lead on the frontstraight on lap 4. T. Fisher and Nurmi got together on lap 4 in turn 2 and Nurmi spun bringing out the caution. A double file restart on lap 5 saw Reynolds and Lamoreaux at it again for the top spot but Reynolds maintained his lead. The caution flew on lap 7 as T. Fisher spun on the backstraight. The field went back green and Joe Brown tried to pass Lamoreaux in turn 3 but Lamoreaux battled back to hold on to 2nd and Larry Fisher got around Brown for 3rd. At the halfway point of the event, Reynolds had a 5 car length advantage over Lamoreaux who ran in the 2nd position. L. Fisher ran 3rd, Brown ran 4th and Joe Beretta rounded out the top 5. On lap 23, T. Fisher moved into the 3rd spot passing Brown on the inside in turn 3. The race would go caution free for the remainder of the event and Reynolds would hold on to score his 2nd win of the season by straightaway over Lamoreaux, T. Fisher, Brown and Beretta who completed the top 5. Lamoreaux won the 10-lap heat race for the division.

Lee Sharpsteen and Paul Johnson led the field to the green flag in the 30-lap Sportsman Modified feature. Sharpsteen would lead the opening laps but Jimmy Zacharias was on the move as he took 2nd on lap 2. The front 3 ran nose to tail for the first 5 laps with Sharpsteen leading, J. Zacharias in 2nd and Johnson in 3rd. J. Zacharias looked to the inside and the outside of Sharpsteen trying to find a hole big enough to make his move for the top spot. Zach Truesdail passed Mike Speeney and Johnson on the outside to move into the 3rd position on lap 10. The caution came out on lap 11 when Sharpsteen and J. Zacharias touched coming out of turn 4 and Sharpsteen spun. Truesdail and Johnson took the field back green but the caution came right back out as 2nd place Johnson and 3rd place Speeney ran into trouble on the backstraight. This caution moved R. Zacharias into 2nd and beside leader Truesdail for a double file restart. Truesdail and R. Zacharias took the field back green. Truesdail led R. Zacharias, J. Zacharias, Shimer and Sharpsteen as the field completed halfway on lap 15. Kreig Heroth hit the turn 4 with Shiner and Sharpsteen involved. This forced officials to red flag the race to clean up fluids on the speedway. When the clean up was complete and the field went back green, Truesdail led R. Zacharias but less than half a car length with just 12 laps remaining. R. Zacharias tried all he could to get around Truesdail but it wasn't enough and Truesdail would pick up his first Shangri-La II win in just his 2nd start at the speedway. R. Zacharias, J. Zacharias, Speeney and Sharpsteen rounded out the top 5. Lee Sharpsteen and Paul Johnson won the 8-lap heat races.

The Tobias SpeedSTR's had a 20-lap feature event. DJ Macri, Jr. and Tyler Potts led the field to the green flag. Potts led the opening laps with Macri, Jr. running 2nd and Doug Rose running 3rd. Rose took the lead on lap 7 and Macri, Jr. moved into 2nd, VanInwegen, Jr. moved into 3rd as the passed Potts who fell to 4th. Officals displayed the red flag on lap 15 when Macri, Jr. touched the leader Rose who spun in turn 4 and flipped. When the field went back green, VanInwegen, Jr. and Potts ran in the top 2 positions. Rich Tobias, Jr. and Kyle Hieber passed Potts to move in 2nd and 3rd on lap 17. VanInwegan, Jr. opened up a 3 car length advantage over Tobias, Jr. and went on to win the first ever event at the speedway for the Tobias SpeedSTR's. Tobias, Jr. finished 2nd and Hieber finished 3rd. DJ Macri, Jr. won the 8-lap heat race.

Dylan Terry started on the pole and led all 20-laps in the Street Stock feature event to score his first win of the season. Chad McDonald finished 2nd, Frank Chapman, Jr. finished 3rd, AJay Potrzebowski finished 4th and Cricket Clonch completed the top 5. Dylan Terry won the 8-lap heat race held for the division.

The excitement continues on Saturday, August 8th with NASCAR Night presented by Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers. In action will be the Mighty Modifieds (40 laps), ASA Late Models (30 laps), Sportsman Modifieds (30 laps) and Street Stocks (20 laps). Pits gates open at 11:00am, Grandstands open at 1:00pm and Practice starts at 2:00pm. Grandstand Admission is $10.00 for Adults, $5.00 for Kids (6-12) and Kids 5 and Under are FREE. Shangri-La II Motor Speedway and the American Speed Association - Don't Forget that Concrete Kicks Asphalt!