Markovic, Nurmi, Zacharias and Terry Big Winners
on Big Day at Shangri-La II

by Brock Moore
August 10th, 2009
For Immediate Release

(Tioga Center, NY) The Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers presented an action filled day of racing to a near capacity crowd on Saturday, August 8th at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway. Winners included John Markovic (Mighty Modifieds), Scott Nurmi (ASA Late Models), Jimmy Zacharias (Sportsman Modifieds) and Dylan Terry (Street Stocks).

Danielle Buchek and Chris Zacharias brought the Mighty Modifieds to the green for their 40-lap feature. C. Zacharias and 3rd place starter Jim Storace wasted no time clearing Buchek heading into turn 1. Storace went to the lead with C. Zacharias on his tail as John Markovic ran in the 3rd position in the opening laps. The first caution came out on lap 3 when veteran driver Ken Canestrari spun in turn 4. When the field went back green, Markovic cleared C. Zacharias for the 2nd spot and looked to real down race leader Storace as the top 5 ran bumper to bumper. Jimmy Zacharias moved into the top 3 on lap 8 passing C. Zacharias and then worked on Markovic for 2nd as the 2 battled side by side down the back straight while Storace continued to lead. On lap 16, race leader Storace suffered mechanical problems heading into turn 1 and went pit side giving the lead to Markovic with Tony Hanbury now in the 2nd spot. The field continued to shuffle positions with Jimmy Zacharias passing Hanbury for 2nd. At the halfway point of the race, Markovic, J. Zacharias and Tony Hanbury was the top 3 and all battled nose to tail. Hanbury went to the inside of J. Zacharias on lap 22 to take over the 2nd position once again as Rick Zacharias also got around for 3rd. The caution flew on lap 34 as Danielle Buchek suffered mechanical problems heading into turn 1 and Canestrari spun to avoid. Buchek's mechanical problem forced officials to red flag the race as fluids went down the front straight. Following a 20 minute clean up process, Markovic took the field back green in a single file restart with just 5 laps remaining and would hold on to score his 2nd win of the 2009 racing season in the division. Hanbury crossed the line in 2nd, R. Zacharias finished 3rd, J. Zacharias finished 4th and C. Zacharias completed the top 5. Jim Storace and John Markovic won the 10-lap heat races held for the division.

The ASA Late Models had its highest car count of the 2009 racing season as 10 signed into the pit area for competition. The streak of bad luck for Scott Nurmi finally came to an end when he won both Twin 20 races held for the division to secure the best average finishing position and his first win at the speedway. Travis Fisher, Jim Lamoreaux, Rick Smith and Paul Koehler rounded out the top 5. Scott Nurmi and Ben Reynolds won the 10-lap qualifying heat races.

Paul Johnson and Lee Sharpsteen made up the front row for the 30-lap feature event for the Sportsman Modifieds. Johnson jumped out to the early lead and 3rd place starter Justin Petcosky followed and took over 2nd. On lap 2, Petcosky took the lead coming off of turn 2, Rick Zacharias moved into 2nd and Jimmy Zacharias took 3rd as the all cleared Johnson. R. Zacharias passed Petcosky for the lead on lap 7 with J. Zacharias following close behind as Petcosky fell to 3rd. J. Zacharias fought his way to the lead in turn 3 on lap 9 moving R. Zacharias back to the 2nd spot. At the halfway point of the event, J. Zacharias was the leader ahead of R. Zacharias, Petcosky, Tony Hanbury and John Wilber who completed the top 5. With 5 laps remaining, Hanbury battled bumper to bumper with Petcosky for the 3rd position. J. Zacharias would score the win by 4 car lengths over R. Zacharias who finished 2nd. Petcosky held on for 3rd, Hanbury finished 4th and Wilber rounded out the top 5. The 8-lap heat races was won by Paul Johnson and Lee Sharpsteen.

Dylan Terry made it back to back wins the Street Stock division by winning the 20-lap feature event from his 4th place starting position. AJay Potrzebowski finished 2nd, Chad McDonald finished 3rd, Frank Chapman, Jr. finished 4th and pole sitter Derrick Tarbox completed the top 5. Terry celebrated with victory donuts on the front straight. Derrick Tarbox won the 8-lap qualifying heat race.

The schedule for this Saturday, August 15th features a full program of racing for the Mighty Modifieds (40 laps), ASA Late Models (30 laps), Sportsman Modifieds (30 laps) and Street Stocks (20 laps). Pit Gates Open at 11:00am, Grandstand Gates at 1:00pm, Practice at 2:00pm with the first race hitting the track at 4:00pm. Admission is $10.00 for Adults, $5.00 for Kids 6-12 and Kids 5 and Under are always FREE.

Shangri-La II Motor Speedway and the American Speed Association (ASA) - Concrete Does Kick Asphalt!