Jim Storace Grabs Career First Mighty Modified Win

by Brock Moore
August 15th, 2009
For Immediate Release

(Tioga Center, NY) Race fans looking for exciting action found it Saturday afternoon at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway. When it was over Jim Storace (Mighty Modifieds), Scott Nurmi (ASA Late Models), Rick Zacharias (Sportsman Modifieds) and Dylan Terry (Street Stocks) celebrated in Victory Lane at the 1/2 mile concrete oval.

Jim Storace and Jimmy Zacharias started on the front row for the 40-lap feature for Mighty Modifieds. Storace and J. Zacharias battled side by side for the top spot in the opening laps but Storace prevailed to hold the lead. John Markovic and Rick Zacharias wasted no time getting in on the action as they battled for the 3rd and 4th positions. Markovic looked to pass J. Zacharias on the inside for the 2nd position on lap 4 but J. Zacharias shut the door. R. Zacharias moved to the 3rd spot off turn 4 on lap 10 passing Markovic on the inside and then quickly took 2nd from J. Zacharias. Tony Hanbury battled on the outside of Markovic for the 4th position for numerous laps until Hanbury spun in turn 2 bringing out the caution. Storace and R. Zacharias took the field back green and R. Zacharias looked to the outside of Storace for the top spot but Storace was able to keep the lead. The caution came back out on lap 19 as Hanbury and T.J. Zacharias got together in turn 4. The field completed halfway when the race resumed and Storace, R. Zacharias, J. Zacharias, Markovic and Andy Walko were the top 5. J. Zacharias completed the pass on R. Zacharias on lap 22 to move into the 2nd position as Storace maintained the lead. Storace and J. Zacharias battled nose to tail for the top spot with less than 10 laps remaining. In the final laps it was a 3 car break away at the front with Storace leading J. Zacharias and R. Zacharias. Storace would hold off the late race charges to score his career first Mighty Modified win. J. Zacharias finished 2nd, R. Zacharias finished 3rd, Chris Zacharias held on for 4th and Markovic completed the top 5. Markovic and J. Zacharias won the 10-lap heat races.

Scott Nurmi and Larry Fisher led the ASA Late Models to the green flag for a 30-lap feature event. Nurmi would lead lap 1 as Jim Lamoreaux passed L. Fisher for the 2nd position and Travis Fisher cleared him for 3rd. Lamoreaux would make several attempts in 30 laps to pass Nurmi for the top spot but was unable to prevail. The race would run caution free and Nurmi would make it back to back wins in the division. Lamoreaux finished a solid 2nd ahead of T. Fisher, L. Fisher and Joe Brown who rounded out the top 5 finishers. Jim Lamoreaux won the 10-lap heat race held for the division.

Glenn Lipolis and T.J. Zacharias brought the Sportsman Modifieds to the green for their 30-lap feature. T.J. Zacharias jumped out to the early lead as Lee Sharpsteen and Justin Petcosky both cleared Lipolis for 2nd and 3rd. The caution came out on lap 2 when Jimmy Zacharias and Petcosky got together in turn 4 when J. Zacharias suffered a mechanical problem. T.J. Zacharias and Sharpsteen take the field back green and Sharpsteen would take over the top spot. Rick Zacharias, Tony Hanbury and Zach Truesdail would clear T.J. Zacharias on the inside to move into 2nd, 3rd and 4th. R. Zacharias looked to the outside of Sharpsteen on lap 6 coming out of turn 4 and Sharpsteen spun bringing out the caution. R. Zacharias and Hanbury take the field back green and the two battled side by side into turn 1 but R. Zacharias was able to maintain the top spot. As the field completed halfway, R. Zacharias had opened up at 3 car length advantage over Hanbury. Hanbury closed the gap with less than 5 laps to go as he looked the set R. Zacharias up for a bump and run. Hanbury ran out of laps and R. Zacharias would go on to score his 3rd win of the season in the Sportsman Modified division. Hanbury came home in the 2nd position ahead of Truesdail who finished 3rd. Petcosky battled back from his lap 2 accident to finish 4th and T.J. Zacharias completed the top 5. Rick Zacharias and Justin Petcosky won the 8-lap qualifying heat races.

The Street Stock division had a 20-lap feature event that saw Dylan Terry score his 3rd straight victory after starting in the 4th position. Terry took over the lead on lap 9 when leader Frank Chapman, Jr. and Chad McDonald got together coming off turn 4 and McDonald spun bringing out the caution and both drivers got penalized to the rear of the field. AJay Potrzebowski finished 2nd ahead of Chad McDonald who battled back to finish 3rd. Derrick Tarbox finished 4th and Chapman, Jr. finished 5th. AJay Potrzebowski took the win in the 8-lap heat race.

On Labor Day Weekend (September 4th-September 6th) it is Labor Day on Fire that will feature 3 Straight Days of Blazing Fast Action. On Friday, September 4th it will be Open Practice for all divisions starting at 5:00pm. Saturday, September 5th will see the ASA Late Models (35 laps), Street Stocks (25 laps), Cup Lites (20 laps) and DIRT Street Stocks (20 laps) in action followed by the Night Under Fire Jet Show featuring a Fireworks display at our sister track Skyview Drags. Sunday, September 6th will feature a 100 lap race for the Mighty Modifieds along with the Sportsman Modifieds (30 laps) and a National Points race for the INEX Legends (20 laps). A Lap Money Program is being run for the Mighty Modified division. Shangri-La II Motor Speedway and the American Speed Association (ASA) - Concrete is Kickin' Asphalt!