Fisher Grabs ASA Late Models Feature; Daugherty Wins
Street Stocks at Shangri-La II

by Brock Moore
September 5th, 2009
For Immediate Release

(Tioga Center, NY) The first day of the Labor Day on Fire Weekend at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway is in record books. Travis Fisher will represent Shangri-La II Motor Speedway at the 10th Annual King of the Mountain at Sundance Vacations Speedway after capturing the ASA Late Models feature event. Other Winners included Chris Daugherty (Street Stocks), Shane Riffel (Cup Lites) and Tyler Yeagle (DIRT Street Stocks).

Joe Brown and Jim Lamoreaux had front row starting spots for the 25-lap ASA Late Models feature. Brown jumped out to the early lead as Travis Fisher quickly cleared Scott Nurmi and Joe Beretta to move into the 3rd position after starting 5th. Fisher then closed up on Lamoreaux and took the 2nd position. The first caution came out on lap 6 when Bill Catania dropped fluid on the race track. Brown and T. Fisher took the field back to the green flag and the two battled side by side for the top spot for 3 laps until T. Fisher got loose coming off turn 4. That allowed Lamoreaux to sneak by and move into 2nd. Lamoreaux was then in hot pursuit and was all over the back bumper of leader Brown. The caution flew on lap 10 when the front two cars touched and went around in turns 3 and 4. The restart had T. Fisher and Joe Beretta lead the field back to green and T. Fisher quickly cleared him. Brown regained the 2nd position and Lamoreaux regained 3rd on lap 15 passing Paul Koehler and Beretta. T. Fisher opened up a half straightaway advantage and went on to score the win. Brown finished 2nd, Lamoreaux 3rd, Koehler 4th and Larry Fisher cleared Joe Beretta in the closing laps to complete the top 5. Jim Lamoreaux won the 10-lap heat race held for the division.

With 17 cars signed into the pit area for action, the Street Stocks had an exciting 25-lap feature event. Scott Reagan and Mike Nichols brought the field the to the green. Nichols powered to the lead as Chris Daugherty followed with AJay Potrzebowski running in 3rd. Nichols managed to open up a half car length advantage over Daugherty who was issued a 1 position penalty for passing below the yellow line. The caution flew on lap 5 when Bobby Newman slowed in turn 1 and at that time AJay Potrzebowski moved into 2nd. Nichols and Potrzebowski led the field back to the green flag and on this restart Chad McDonald cleared RJ Zacharias for the 4th position. On lap 9, Daugherty regained the 2nd position from AJay Potrzebowski. Terry Ostrander spun on the front straight and brought the caution on the speedway on lap 10. Nichols and Daugherty would take the field back to speed. AJay Potrzebowski got a run to the inside of Daugherty and took second but Daugherty made the outside stick and quickly snatched the position back. At the halfway point, Nichols, Daugherty, AJay Potrzebowski, McDonald and Zacharias made up the top 5. AJay Potrzebowski and Chad McDonald got together in turn 4 while battling hard for 3rd and touched the wall bringing the yellow out again on lap 14. Nichols and Daugherty dragged raced back to the green flag on the restart. The battle heated up for the 3rd position as Lee Sharpsteen and RJ Zacharias battled nose to tail for numerous laps until Sharpsteen cleared him on lap 17. Race long leader Mike Nichols engine expired on lap 19 giving the top spot to Lee Sharpsteen. Then on lap 21, Lee Sharpsteen lost an engine and RJ Zacharias spun on the back straight. The green came out again and the intensity was like no other. Daugherty and Terry use the slingshot move into turn but Daugherty powered back to the lead. Terry Potrzebowski and AJay Potrzebowski mixed it up for the 3rd spot and T. Potrzebowski grabed the position. The caution came out for the final time when Terry Ostrander spun on the front straight and this set up a green, white, checkered finish. Dylan Terry and Terry Potrzebowski gave Daugherty one more run but Daugherty was able to hold on and score his first ever win at Shangri-La II. Terry Potrzebowski finished 2nd after passing Dylan Terry, who finished 3rd. AJay Potrzebowski and Scott Reagan completed the top 5. RJ Zacharias and Chad McDonald won the 8-lap heat races.

Tyler Yeagle was declared the winner of the 25-lap DIRT Street Stock feature event after Ed Kotari failed post race technical inspection. Josh Parker and Daryl Krebs completed the top 3. Nick Robinson dominated the 8-lap heat race held for the division. Mark Shipman won a set of heads donated by Joe Chandler and Chandler Racing Chassis.

Shane Riffel won both Twin 20 races for the Cup Lites. Riffel also won the 5 lap dash for cash over Scott Wylie and the 8-lap heat race.

For all the latest news and information, visit Shangri-La II Motor Speedway and the American Speed Association (ASA) – Concrete Kicks Asphalt!