Jimmy Zacharias Blazes to Mighty Modified Win

by Brock Moore
September 7th, 2009
For Immediate Release

(Tioga Center, NY) It was an action filled afternoon of racing at the 1/2 mile concrete oval called Shangri-La II Motor Speedway on Sunday, September 6th as part of the Labor Day on Fire weekend. The Mighty Modifieds did battle in a 100-lap race that saw Jimmy Zacharias pick up the win. Other Winners included Mike Alcaro (INEX Legends) and John Markovic (Sportsman Modifieds).

Pete Brittain and Bill Weichert took the Mighty Modified field to the green flag for 100-laps of blazing fast action. Brittain powered to the early lead as Jimmy Zacharias cleared Weichert to move into the 2nd position. The first caution came out on lap 1 when Chris Zacharias slowed on the backstraight. Brittain and J. Zacharias took the field back green. Andy Walko cleared Weichert to move into 3rd and John Markovic, Rick Zacharias and Jim Storace followed suit. The caution came out on lap 9 when Richard Coyle spun off turn 4. Brittain and J. Zacharias led the field green once again. J. Zacharias moved to the inside of Brittain heading into turn 1 but Brittain shut the door. R. Zacharias jumped to the outside of J. Zacharias and completed a pass for the 2nd spot. R. Zacharias moved to the outside of race leader Brittain down the back straight but Brittain cleared him on lap 21. Storace moved past J. Zacharias on lap 23 to take the 3rd spot. Brittain and R. Zacharias battled bumper to bumper for numerous laps until the caution came out on lap 31 when J. Zacharias and Markovic got together in turn 2 and J. Zacharias spun. Brittain pulled away on the restart and maintained the lead while Storace cleared R. Zacharias for 2nd. Mike Nickels slowed on the back straight on lap 34 bringing out the yellow flag. When the green flew again, Brittain and Storace battled side by side but R. Zacharias battled to the inside of Storace to grab the 2nd spot back. R. Zacharias closed the gap between himself and Brittain and took the lead on lap 36 and that opened up the room for Storace to sneak past for 2nd. As the field completed halfway, R. Zacharias, Storace, Brittain, Marc Rogers and J. Zacharias made up the top 5. R. Zacharias opened up a car length or more advantage over Storace and Brittain until the caution came out on lap 65 and the field got bunched back up. Brittain managed to slingshot by Storace on the restart and regain the 2nd spot. R. Zacharias had a tire go down and hits the wall on the front straight bringing the yellow out on lap 66. Storace pulls out to the lead on the restart and on lap 72; J. Zacharias gets a run to the inside of Brittain and clears him for the 2nd spot off turn 4. On lap 77, Storace bumps Markovic on the front straight and Markovic spins bringing out the caution. J. Zacharias and Brittain battled it out for the lead on the restart but J. Zacharias and Daren Scherer freight past. Storace moved into 3rd after passing Brittain off turn 4. Storace cleared Scherer for a short time for the 2nd position but ran out of fuel with less than 10 laps remaining. J. Zacharias would hold on and score his 2nd win in the Mighty Modifieds at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway. Daren Scherer, Andy Walk, Pete Brittain and Ken Canestrari completed the top 5. John Markovic, Pete Brittain and Dean Rypkema won the 10-lap heat races held for the division.

The INEX Legends made their debut at the speedway and had a 20-lap feature event. Richie Vanderpool and Art Priscott made up the front row. Mike Alcaro started 5th and wasted no time making it 3 wide down the back straight and moving into the 3rd position. Alcaro took the lead on lap 2 but Daren Scherer fought to the inside of him and took the lead on lap 4. Alcaro dove back to the inside in turn 1 but Scherer shut the door. The only caution of the race came out on lap 9 when Johnnie Gloss, IV got loose coming off turn 4 and collected Art Priscott. Scherer and Alcaro took it back green. Scherer maintained the top spot as Jason Urso looked to the inside of Alcaro for the 2nd position but Alcaro powers by and keeps the spot. At the halfway point, Scherer led Alcaro, Urso, Matt Priscott and Milton Price. Alcaro drove around Scherer on lap 13 in turn 2 to take over the top spot. Alcaro and Scherer battled nose to tail for the remainder of the event but Alcaro would take the checkered flag. Scherer finished 2nd ahead of Urso, Matt Priscott and Paul Weymouth rounded out the top 5. Daren Scherer and Mike Alcaro won the 8-lap heat races.

John Markovic won the 30-lap feature event for the Sportsman Modifieds after starting in the 4th position. Markovic took the lead from Charlie Sharpsteen on lap 8 and held off challenges from Tony Hanbury for the remainder of the event to score the victory. Jimmy Zacharias finished 3rd ahead of Charlie Sharpsteen and Paul Johnson who completed the top 5 finishers. Paul Johnson and Rick Zacharias won the 8-lap qualifying heat races for the division.

It was announced earlier in the week that the winners of the feature events for Mighty Modifieds and Sportsman Modifieds held on Sunday, September 6th would become guaranteed starters for the 10th Annual King of the Mountain to be held at Sundance Vacations Speedway in St. Johns, Pennsylvania on Saturday, October 10th and Sunday, October 11th. Wilcox's Towing and Automotive Repairs notified Track Officials on Sunday Morning that the winner of the Mighty Modified and Sportsman Modified feature events would also becoming guaranteed starters for the North/South Shootout at Concord Motorsports Park in Concord, North Carolina to be held on November 5th to November 7th. The race winner from both divisions accepted the guaranteed starter spots for both events.

Shangri-La II Motor Speedway will be closed on Saturday, September 12th for the 59th Annual Sunoco Race of Champions at Oswego Speedway in Oswego, New York. The speedway will be open on Saturday, September 19th for Season Championships for the Mighty Modifieds, Sportsman Modifieds and Street Stocks. Gates Open at 10:00am, Practice at 12:00pm with the first race taking to the track at 2:00pm. Grandstand Admission is $10.00 for Adults, $5.00 for Kids (6-12) and Kids 5 and under is FREE.

Shangri-La II Motor Speedway and the American Speed Association (ASA) - Concrete is Kickin' Asphalt!